Get Adobe Flash player
Certification Designations... CDP

The Certified Data Professional (CDP) has replaced the Certified Data Management Professional (CDMP)

The data professions continue to grow and expand into many specializations.  ICCP’s thought leaders and advisors have addressed the evolving certification needs of business, data and computing professions by creating this broader data certification program.  If you currently hold the CDMP - based on the combination of ICCP exams you passed you will automatically receive the new CDP.

The ICCP is the professional societies' choice as a trusted broker to validate your credentials and provide evidence of having passed ICCP’s exams.

The Certified Data Professional (CDP) credential is awarded to those who qualify based on a combination of criteria including education, experience and test-based examination of professional level knowledge. This credential is offered at the Mastery or Practitioner level. To maintain certified status and continued use of the credential, an annual recertification fee along with a 3-year cycle of continuing education and professional activity is required.


This document outlines the requirements for obtaining the CDP.

CDP Examination Criteria

Three ICCP exams must be passed with the following scores:

ScoreCredential Earned
Pass all exams at 50% or higher CDP Practitioner Certificate
Pass all exams at 70% or higher CDP Mastery Certificate

The CDP Practitioner certification is awarded to professionals who scored above 50% on all three exams. These individuals can contribute as a team member on assigned tasks for they have a working knowledge of concepts, skills and techniques in a particular data specialization.

The CDP Mastery certification is awarded to professionals who scored 70% or higher on all three exams. These individuals have the ability to lead and mentor a team of professionals as they have mastered the concepts, skills and practices of their data specialization.

Exams may be retaken to improve your score and go from the Practitioner to the Mastery certificate level. You may be able to substitute select vendor certifications for up to one specialty exam.

Additional CDP Certification Criteria

The following criteria must also be met in order to qualify for the CDMP:

CDP Practitioner Certificate CDP Mastery Certificate
# Years Data Professional Work Experience 2 4+
Substitute Up to 2 Years –Bachelor or Master Degree in an appropriate discipline for Work Experience 2 2
Recertification Required Yes Yes
Continuing Professional Education/Activity Required 120 hours every 3-year cycle 120 hours every 3-year cycle
ICCP Code of Ethics Yes Yes

Professional Examinations

The CDP requires three ICCP exams: IS Core exam, Data Management exam, and one other exam of your choice. Both the IS Core and Data Management Core exams are mandatory for the CDP.

The third exam is one of your choosing, depending on your work experience. The choices are:

  • Business Intelligence and Data Analytics
  • Data & Information Quality
  • Database Administration (Data Operations)
  • Data Development
  • Data Governance and Stewardship
  • Data Integration & Interoperability
  • Data Modeling (Data Development)
  • Data Warehousing
  • Integrated IT Project Management
  • Zachman Enterprise Architecture Framework

If you already passed one or more ICCP exams or already have another ICCP certificate, these exams or certificates can be used toward a CDP if considered current by ICCP standards, and the exams are listed within your CDP area of specialization.


Cost and Payment Application